by Ornette Hawkins

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €4 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    180g 12" vinyl, black color, 33 1/3 RPM, offset paper 150g
    White poly-lined inner sleeve
    Outer sleeve overturned cardboard GC1 350g
    Shrink wrapping

    Concept, design, and artwork by Unolab

    Includes unlimited streaming of Fantom via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days

      €15 EUR or more 

    You own this  


A1. Fantom 06:34


The DC based duo Ornette Hawkins makes a step further into the field of Ardkore dnb with their latest EP, Fantom. This work revolves around reverent but imaginative jungle hinting to the early 90’s UK scene and simultaneously moving forward. Rhythms quaver, overlap and take new harmonious forms creating textual atmospheres and unveiling unexpected sounds with every listen; finding the “missing frequencies” becomes like an addictive game.

The EP kicks off with the dystopian scenario depicted in Fantom; a rich track that moves like a stealth creature on an alien territory; sub-zero pads, clinical Photek inspired drum patterns and an eerie sax give way to an incessant building up that feels smooth and rough around the edges all at once. A floaty atmosphere returns with the shimmering waves of the Rhodes keyboards layered on warm synths and dry snares in Fade Away. To sum up the mood is the languid Bitch Is Blue, which is not only for its title, an explicit reference to Miles Davis’ avant jazz masterpiece; firstly the original version, placed somewhere between J Majik’s dextrous breakbeats and the crystalline melodies of LTJ Bukem. To close the EP is the startling remix by the intrepid talent of Tim Reaper, who stretches the track to futuristic rhythms, where our ears play along looking for new sounds.


released May 13, 2021

Trumpet on Tracks A1, A2, B1 by Joe Herrera
Tenor Sax on Track A1 by Bobby Muncy
Piano on Track A2 by Jack Gruber
Vocals on Tracks A2, B1 by Jess Lake
Guitar on Track A2 by Anthony Pirog
Cello on Track A2 by Janel Leppin-Pirog
Fender Rhodes on Track B1 by Will Rast

Track B2 remixed by Tim Reaper

Mastered at Beat Machine Records, Milan (IT)
Concept, design, and artwork by Unolab


all rights reserved



Beat Machine Records Milan, Italy

Independent record label | Discovering fresh new sounds within underground music boundaries

contact / help

Contact Beat Machine Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account